2009 Empire State of Mind

3 Apr

I could not complete 40 days in 40 years without a shout out to  Alicia Keys.  Thank you for being you.  For being an international pop-star.  For being a recognizable person that serves as a reminder to strangers for my own name.  “It’s Alysia.  Like Alicia Keys.”   Ahhh…the jokes ensue, but I don’t give a fuck because at least they will pronounce my name correctly.

Oh…so back to the subject at hand.
New York.
The Big Apple.
The city where people go in search of dreams.  For me, it was a place where dreams went to die.  After the on-again-off-agains of my 20s, I suffered Post-Traumatic Stress disorder.  Well, maybe it was just post-dramatic stress disorder, but I didn’t want to be one of 1.6 million living in the same city as him.  Sure, I would have agreed with someone who claimed that the odds were unlikely of running into him.   But after only 3 months living there part-time, I randomly ran into 4 people that I went to Penn with.   Hmmm…

Anyhow, I had no choice, at least no logical choice but to take the job.  The job market sucked and it had been 6 months since I was employed.  But I did it– kind of.   I took a fairly big bite out of the Big Apple, although I will never be able to claim that I was a New Yorker.   I shopped at the Green Market every Friday before boarding the bus to Philly.  I spent lunches reading in Union Square.  I sought the best Spanish grocer, the largest variety of Eastern Mediterranean spices, and the best Italian imports.   When the weather was nice, I grabbed my iPod and roamed through different neighborhoods (if you saw my small boarding room, you would see the necessity).  I even learned to comfortably eat at a restaurant by myself.  In New York, doing things solo was a choice and not the mark of a loner.  I never felt alone being by myself.

2 Responses to “2009 Empire State of Mind”

  1. Lisa April 4, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    You picked my song, too! Great song, great singer.
    And as someone who used to butcher your name in freshman year (although, I still really don’t know why) I am glad you are the original to me!
    xo

  2. Sherri April 5, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    I think it’s awesome that you can one day say “Yes, I lived in NYC once.” I only wish I could say that! I also love that you have the best recommendations whenever I go there 🙂

Leave a Reply

