2008 Landslide

2 Apr

I’ve always been a bit superstitious when it comes to starting off the New Year on the right foot.  I gave Karma an open invitation to kick me in the ass in 2008.  I had been harboring some negativity–a failed relationship; a house purchased to prove a point; a trip abroad that offered no solace; lingering words after a “chance” meeting with Londono.  These feelings festered, and when mixed with alcohol created a monster like no other.  2008 had no chance.  I had no chance.  It was the year that kicked me when I was down.  My godmother passed away suddenly.  I passed up a great job opportunity (well, it wasn’t that great, since technically I was laid off from it last year) only to get laid off from my current job 4 weeks later, and then to spend the next 6 months unemployed.  I had interviewed for my dream job, but got rejected.    It was an avalanche of misfortune, a landslide of setbacks.

Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

I don’t remember when I first heard Landslide.  It has been covered so often.  It’s one of those songs that says to me “you are not alone.”  At times,  I need to hear songs like this.  I need to hear that it’s okay to be uncertain, scared, overwhelmed and under motivated.   It’s part of the growing process.   There is a difference between sorrow and sadness.  Being sorrowful does not make you a negative person.

In 10th grade, I read a poem that has always stuck with me:

If there be sorrow
let it be
for things undone…
undreamed
unrealized
unattained
to these add one:
Love withheld…
… restrained

One Response to “2008 Landslide”

  1. Sherri April 2, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    I totally relate to this song, too! I will be writing about it for sure.

Leave a Reply

